Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

building a P59 AIRACOMET FROM GRUMANIA

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

building a P59 AIRACOMET FROM GRUMANIA

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2006, 12:50 AM
monza

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default building a P59 AIRACOMET FROM GRUMANIA

Hello Everybody,

Last week I embarked on my very first JET project. Since I am new to Kerosene I was looking long and hard for a beginner Jet that actually looks like a real Jet. I came across Ilja Grum's P59 which is not only a 1:7 scale model of the (not so famous) P59 Airacomet, the first ever US army Jet build by Bell.

The kit is NOT an ARF but it is very well thought through and of high quality (German Style.... IT WORKS).

Is there anybody out there who has build this kit before? I am keen to share experiences. I will try to update this thread as I build my P59.

The website to get a first impression is www.grumania.de

cheers
Andre
Old 04-19-2006, 01:34 AM
AsiaSRC

Default RE: building a P59 AIRACOMET FROM GRUMANIA

Keep this coming! any pictures of the kit look like out from the box will b great.

Albert
Old 04-19-2006, 02:08 AM
monza

out of the HUGE box you mean.... I started building but I can take a few shots of the components, no problem.
The kit was delivered (from Germany to Singapore) for below 100 Euros via Airmail. 10 days... incredibly cheap for a box the size of a coffin...
The kit comes EXACTELY as pictured on the web site. I ordered the retracts and the trust pipe as well from Grumania. No hassle to make those crucial components fit on the first attempt this way.

The engine that will go into this baby is a WREN54 SS
Old 04-19-2006, 02:47 AM
AsiaSRC

Just wonder there are panel lines and rivets because cant really see clearly from website pix.