Go Back  RCU Forums > Glow Engines, Gas Engines, Fuel & Mfg Support Forums > Gas Engines
Reload this Page >

7.5 HP = what engine? Fuel consumption?

Community
Search
Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

7.5 HP = what engine? Fuel consumption?

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2003, 07:05 AM
gvincent

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 7.5 HP = what engine? Fuel consumption?

Hi all,

I'm new to RC aircraft and this forum, but I'm hoping someone can answer my question. I'm the propulsion lead for a University of Washington senior aircraft design course, and have been handed the task of finding a 7.5+ HP gasoline engine that is as light as possible AND has good fuel efficiency. We only need 7.5 horsies during maneuvers, and about 3.5 for cruise. We're attempting to build a UAV that can pull 12 G's (sustained), and has huge winglets for side-force control. Oh, and it's supposed to fly for an hour on 4 lbs of fuel (thank god this is flexible).

Can anyone recommend an engine for this job? We're currently looking at:
• 3W 75iUS
• BME-80
• Brison 4.2ci (are they still in business?)
• Taurus TS 72
• ZDZ 80 RV.
We pulled these out of Model Airplane News (May 2020), and would love for a personal recommendation.

My big question is how much fuel does an engine of this size burn per minute? An ounce? A gallon? I haven't found any numbers on this at all. Can I guesstimate this based on displacement?

I would seriously appreciate ANY input on this at all; all of us in the course are new to RC aircraft.

Thanks for the expert advice!
Graylan Vincent
Old 02-19-2003, 12:29 PM
rc bugman
My Feedback: (30)

First of all, 2 strokes are never known to be miserly on fuel. I have found that a good rule of thumb about fuel consumption at full throttle is the displacement of the engine in cc = to the cc of fuel consumption per min.

data: 3w-24 uses less than 30 cc per min at full throttle and 24 cc is a good estimate.