Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Car Radio Equipment
Reload this Page >

Justifying a higher end transmitter?

Community
Search
Notices
RC Car Radio Equipment Discuss specific topics related to RC car radios. For general or non rc car specific radio topics please see our regular radio discussion forum.

Justifying a higher end transmitter?

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2008, 12:54 AM
cnbsdad

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Justifying a higher end transmitter?

I'm just getting into the hobby of R/C nitro. Just picked up a Traxxas Jato 3.3. I know, it's very, very fast for a beginner.. but oh well, what can I say. I guess the looks and advertised speed is what attracted me. I live out in the county, so light poles and curves are limited.

Now that I have the itch, I’m sure I’ll be purchasing one to two more cars. As I’ve been doing my research, I see that most cars (RTR) come with a transmitter. I was thinking of jumping up a notch to the Futaba 2.4. I don’t want to be making Energizer rich with the disposables. I won’t be participating in any races, just recreational. So am I better off just sticking with the included transmitters?

I own a Futaba 2.4 for my planes and simply love it. Most planes don’t come with a transmitter so it was justified. And it’s nice to get to the field and just fly, rather than ask around to see who’s using the same frequency.

Your advice and/or suggestions would definitely be appreciated.
Thanks.
Old 01-05-2008, 10:04 AM
tashspop
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: Justifying a higher end transmitter?

i think its worth the upgrade if you can spend the money on it. to me its more important to start with your servo's though. the jato's stock may be ok though since the front end is light.
Old 01-05-2008, 10:36 AM
XJRichB