Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

G26ei or G26 magneto

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2008, 09:41 AM
wingstrut

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default G26ei or G26 magneto

Fellow pilots, I have been flying nitro powered aircraft for 25 years, now I would like to get into gas.
I have a balsa usa sopwith pup and I think I would like to go with the Zenoah G 26.
all of the guys at the field presently are running G26's with magneto spark and having no problems.
Is electronic ignition really worth all the added expense and trouble having to deal with the extra battery and finding a place to mount the ignition module? All I hear is that they start easier.....There are four guys at the field who use magneto sparked Zenoahs and I've never seen them hand flip the prop more than three times......... Thank you in advance for your help.
Old 01-09-2008, 10:09 AM
Jake Ruddy
My Feedback: (40)

Default RE: G26ei or G26 magneto

I think it depends what you are comfortable with.

Honestly adding an igniton and battery is not all that complicated really. What I would make the determining factor is whether or not you need the extra weight for balance issues. Pereformance wise you aren't going to see any difference.
Old 01-09-2008, 10:18 AM
Charley
My Feedback: (2)

Some guys have the knack and some don't. You have to start the flip quite a bit before TDC in order to get a spark. This is because the magnet in the G26 flywheel passes under the coil earlier than the piston hits TDC. You also have to flip it briskly. I know a guy who can seldom flip-start his G26 but it fires right up when he uses a starter to spin it.

CR
Old 01-09-2008, 10:29 AM
mrbigg
My Feedback: (21)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

my g38 on magneto starts easy. no need to convert it to electronic ignition for starting purposes.
Old 01-09-2008, 10:41 AM
Checklst