Community
Search
Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

building a Glasair

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2002, 04:41 PM
Tamecat

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default building a Glasair

I have aquired a set of Model Airplane New Glasair plans. I size is o.k., but I am going to blow them up by 50%. I have never built a giant scale airplane before and would like suggestions, and advice from you model masters.
Old 12-15-2002, 07:00 PM
AmishWarlord
My Feedback: (5)

Hey if you can handle it go for it. But you might want to stick to the plans as is for the first one so you can gain some experience. After you build and test out your plane you can sell it to finance the building of 1/2 scale plane.

Keep in mind that this plan is for a plane with a 71" wing and using a 1.20 size engine. Your going to have to make a lot of structural changes to the plans for it to handle a big gas engine and it's tork and vibration. You don't build Giant scale planes like you do .60 size ones.
Old 12-15-2002, 09:09 PM
Tamecat

Actually the plans call for a .75 or .90 sized engine. This is not outside of my capabilities and I've built planes in this arena before from twins, trainers and sport planes. But something that is slightly over 50% in size over what the plans called for got my attention. Yes, you are right about the gas engine. That totally slipped my mind. I guess I'm looking at the building of such a plane. Two questions comes to mind I need answered: 1) how much does the averge giant scale airframe cost to build? ( forget radio equipment, engine, fuel tank & lines, etc.) 2) Are we getting into the area of building like a full scale plane?
Old 12-15-2002, 09:19 PM
Flyfalcons

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Tamecat,