Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

F18 Elevator

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

F18 Elevator

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2006, 06:53 AM
johnls

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default F18 Elevator

I have a Skymaster F18 and although all the linkages to the elevator ( or more correctly, the stabilizer ) are new, there is inevitably a minute amount of free play in the clevis to control horns. This movement is then exaggerated, due to the leverage and results in about 1/4 inch of slop. Is this acceptable? I'm worried about flutter on a model this quick.
Thanks,
John
Old 05-26-2006, 07:52 AM
p47dman
My Feedback: (22)

Default RE: F18 Elevator

John, after having built 3 of these now I would not use clevis of any kind. My choice is a bolt on ball link, no slop and cannot pop loose. Dubro makes several you can choose from. I also make my pushrod from 1/8" cold rolled steel. Cut your own threads, very stiff and the link will self thread right on. Use a 4-40 die to cut the threads. Good luck with her.
Old 05-26-2006, 07:54 AM
rcjet lynch

What about using a ball link system instead of a clevis? We have a few skymaster f-18 flying at our local field but I dont remember seeing any large amounts of play in them.

Rob Lynch
Old 05-26-2006, 03:42 PM
johnls

Thanks, I'll take your advice, I don't feel comfortable with the present setup.

John
Old 05-27-2006, 06:11 AM
Extra 230
My Feedback: (1)

On mine (JL), I drilled out the horn and inserted a nylon bushing for the clevis. Dead tight and pushrod alligned with the center of the horn.

- Thore
Old 05-27-2006, 09:48 AM
Aka Bubba
My Feedback: (28)

John,

I had the same concern on my SM Raptor!
I checked with a few individuals that have successfully built and flown this model as well as other SM aircraft owners.
And I was told that a little play (1/16) in the bushing is expected and pretty typical of SM aircraft.