Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic
Reload this Page >

Throttle servo recommendations for 50cc

Community
Search
Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

Throttle servo recommendations for 50cc

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2009, 09:46 PM
Andy01

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Throttle servo recommendations for 50cc

Hi everyone

Currently putting together a 50CC extra, and have hitec 7955's all around. What is the recommended servo for the throttle? I am using a DA50 engine. Should I also go with a 7955 there as well? If not, do I need to stick with a metal geared servo? Thanks for your help

Andy
Old 03-28-2009, 10:12 PM
tail strike
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: Throttle servo recommendations for 50cc

your best would be a digital servo, should be fast but does not have to be real powerful.
Old 03-28-2009, 10:12 PM
flaminheli

I am by no means an expert on this since I have just completed my first gasser but I think you would be fine with any standard digital servo. I used a Futaba 3152 for my throttle. I don't see where a metal geared servo would be needed for the throttle but digital would be preferred for a consistant idle.
Old 03-28-2009, 10:26 PM
nitro wing

I have read many times that the shock and vibration from a gasser can easily shatter the nylon gears.I 'd go with a metal one.
Old 03-28-2009, 10:30 PM
propchief
My Feedback: (65)

Just use a standard metal gear servo and you'll be fine. You won't gain an advantage using a digital servo on the throttle. I'm using Hitec 425s and no problems. Speed of the servo is greater than the engine's ability to react to the throttle movement.
Old 03-28-2009, 11:00 PM
Bass1

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

My early experiences with non metal geared throttle servos for gassers has me using nothing but metal geared servos. Ruined several great flying days with stripped nylon geared throttle servos[]