Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Tips & Techniques
Reload this Page >

How do I ceate a new servo bay in the fuse of an ARF?

Community
Search
Notices
Tips & Techniques Want to share a tip or special technique you have either in the workshop or at the flying field or race track? Post it right here!

How do I ceate a new servo bay in the fuse of an ARF?

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2008, 10:01 PM
VictoryRoll
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How do I ceate a new servo bay in the fuse of an ARF?

Hey All !

I am hoping this is the correct forum in which to ask this question... if not, let me know and I will ask moderator to move accordingly.

Anyway, what I would like to know is how does one best create a servo bay in the fuse of a new ARF.

The plane I am building is the GP Big Stik 40 ARF, and I would like to stick a servo in front of the rudder, top-side, and run a pull-pull system, but I have zero experience in doing this. Questions like:
1) At what point should I make the hole in the fuse? (I mean how far away (or close) to the rudder should the hole be)?
2) After cutting the hole in the fuse, I suspect I should strengthen the underlying area around the cutout with plywood of some sort, am I right?
3) What else should I know/do

Thanks so much for your help! I am really excited about this build and want it to go really well, as well as look and work great. Any and all suggestions are appreciated !

Thanks again !

P.S. The GP Big Stik manual is here: http://manuals.hobbico.com/gpm/gpma1220-1221-manual.pdf

P.S.S. If it matters, I will be running a OS 55AX engine.

Don
Old 10-29-2008, 10:20 PM
dignlivn

Default RE: How do I ceate a new servo bay in the fuse of an ARF?

Don,

Why a pull/pull, just put a high torque servo
for the rudder JMO.

Bob
Old 10-29-2008, 10:59 PM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

You can do a pull-pull without moving the servo. Just mount it in the center of the servo tray.