Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Where to use after run oil?

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2003, 03:10 AM
volks-kreuzer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Where to use after run oil?

I just picked up a AE RC10 GT and in the motor maual it says to use after run oil but don't put it in the carburator. Where are you supposed to put it. I am new to Nitro, can someone give me a hand?
Old 08-22-2003, 03:14 AM
lazoj

I put a few drops in the carb, then remove the plug and put a few drops in the engine. Pull the cord a few times.
Old 08-22-2003, 06:48 AM
Drager

every time after you run your car take off the heat sink head and put a couple drops of after run oil in it
Old 08-22-2003, 11:51 AM
kn7671

Don't put any drops into the carb.... Some of the after run oils use certain additives that can and will ruin to o-rings inside the carb, raising problems with tuning and performance you don't want. The small amount of oil you do want should go into the cylinder only after removing the glow plug.

When I turn my car off, I open the throttle on the engine and leave the glow plug out of the engine. This will help prevent moisture from being trapped inside the engine causing corrosion, or worse, hydro-lock. If your engine is really hot, and you don't remove the glow plug when through running for the day, and you live in a humid area, it is possible that as the engine cools that enough moisture could build inside the engine to cause hydro-lock situation when restarting the engine next time.
Old 08-22-2003, 01:28 PM
volks-kreuzer

Some very useful information here. Thanks for the replies!
Old 08-22-2003, 03:05 PM
Avalanche

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally posted by Drager
every time after you run your car take off the heat sink head and put a couple drops of after run oil in it