Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Car General Discussions
Reload this Page >

Breaking in and Running Nitro in the cold

Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Breaking in and Running Nitro in the cold

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2011, 09:52 AM
Dr. Blockhed

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Breaking in and Running Nitro in the cold

HelloAll,

I'm new to nitro RC and my wife recently got me an ofna ultra lx1. I've broken in it in the past week and have run about 3 -5 tanks after that. I broke it in in colder weather (about 30-40 degrees) and have tuned it in the same weather. My lhs said this is fine and these engines like the cold, I also read that running it in weather that is too cold could ruin the sleeve and piston and they may have to be replaced when it warms up out due to metal expansion.

Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

Thanks
Old 01-20-2011, 10:20 AM
tommygun32

Default RE: Breaking in and Running Nitro in the cold

Hi and welcome to RCU and the addiction Allenmr.

I would say two things mate. In those kind of temps (around zero f or so), I'd try and heat the engine up with a strong hair dryer or heat gun prior to starting it. Then as soon as your engine stops, make sure you position the piston at BDC of stroke (bottom dead center). That way your sleeve can cool down to it's original position without being impeeded by the piston itself. Also, you'll want to use a very hot glow plug.

(I'm wondering what happens to fuel at those kind of temps or the oil viscosity in the shocks and diffs??)

Good luck and enjoy.
Old 01-20-2011, 10:42 AM
Fuel Crazy
My Feedback: (1)

i run all the time when its in the 30's and 40's here... my engines do not like hot plugs though. Just remember when its cold out, the air is denser..so you need to tune a little richer.