Engine Conversions Discuss all aspects of engine conversions in this forum

Introducing myself...

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2021, 06:58 PM
1967brutus

Received 97 Likes on 89 Posts
Default Introducing myself...

Hi all,

Just a short introduction: My name is Bert, I am a marine engineer by profession and an avid RC pilot when not at sea. In the RC hobby for 42 years, flying for about 38 of them, fixed wing as well as rotary.
Since about 6 years now, I have completely tossed Methanol out, but.... not given up on the engines I allready had (in fact, gathered a lot more of them, since glow engines nowadays seem to be cheap and plentiful in the classifieds).
Of course the first attempts at flying SMALL gas (really small) were difficult, but nowadays, I think I have the trick mastered, and unlocked the door to the smaller range of engines (15 cc and smaller, down to at least 5 cc, but trying to go smaller even, all the way to 1,5 cc).
Flying on gas works just as well, if not better, than on methanol. Very userfriendly, very reliable, lots cleaner, and very frugal, and converting glow engines means that there is a much wider range of options compared to "purpose built" gassers.
I have now done more or less every displacement size over 5 cc and they all work flawless.
I used to burn through easily the equivalent of 500 bucks per year of methanol, now that has reduced to about 50, no joke, and I am flying more rather than less. The money saved is used to buy more engines

I came here to RCUniverse, seeing that this forum contrary to other forums has a dedicated sub for engine conversions, but to my dissapointment, it is rather quiet in here, looking at the dates of last posts and the average length of threads.
Nobody interested in flying cheap wet fuel anymore? Pity...

Anyway, regards,

Bert
The following users liked this post:
Johnfrench13 (07-18-2024)
Old 10-22-2021, 08:42 AM
1967brutus

Well, It appears that interest in small gassers is not overwhelming...