Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Tips & Techniques
Reload this Page >

How do I install dual aileron servos???

Community
Search
Notices
Tips & Techniques Want to share a tip or special technique you have either in the workshop or at the flying field or race track? Post it right here!

How do I install dual aileron servos???

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2006, 12:23 PM
Birman

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How do I install dual aileron servos???

Hi all. I want to install dual ailerons in my next build and I've never done it before. I want to set the servos on their sides so that just the horns are protruding for the wing. Do you use a Y harness in this type of installation? Do the horns of each servo face towards the root?

Does anyone have pictures of an installation?

Thanks,
Larry
Old 12-20-2006, 01:10 PM
Charlie P.

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default RE: How do I install dual aileron servos???

Dozens of variations possible. Generally, if you're laying the servos on their sides with the arms protruding through a plywood (removable) panel you want the arm pointing out of the wing. ;-) I like mine so that (when installed on the lower wing surface) the arm is as far back as possible at maximum up deflection on the aileron. That usually gives them a bit of a rearward sweep at neutral and I like the looks of that. If the servo is "proud" (exposed and the arm moving parallel to the wing) I like to have the arm pointing just shy of straight back at maximum up deflection.

I don't have an image to load here at work, but can take some later if none appear.

"Y" harness or set the servos independently if the transmitter/receiver allows.
Old 12-20-2006, 01:15 PM
Charlie P.

http://www.btemodels.com/Downloads/vt_dualaileron.pdf