Community
Search
Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

Help with 100cc ideas.

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2008, 05:20 PM
Race21
My Feedback: (20)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with 100cc ideas.

Looking to get into gas and move up to a 100cc airframe. I have been flying nitro for a while (off and on for nearly 20 years) and I want to step up. I am currently flying a Goldberg SU-26MX with a Saito 180 on it. Great plane. Lots of fun. Like the looks. My question for all of you Giant 3D gurus is this: Between a Comp-ARF Yak 55SP, an Aeroworks Edge 540 (older, surfaces a little small), and an Aeroworks Katana what would you recommend and why? I like all of them. The Edge however is a little older and the surfaces look too small to 3D (from the looks of the ailerons it looks like hovering would be very challenging!). They all have 3W power (100i B2's and the 106) and all have a wingspan between 102" and 104". All are comp equiped with smart-fly regulators and very similar servos (5945MG's). All three are local. Don't need to ship. Any and all ideas are welcomed! Even if you want to tell me to get something other than one of these three. Thanks in advance.
Old 10-23-2008, 05:55 PM
Rcpilot
My Feedback: (78)

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: Help with 100cc ideas.

Get the Comp-ARF Yak.
Old 10-23-2008, 06:07 PM
Tired Old Man
My Feedback: (1)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Being your first 100cc plane, as much as I like the Comp Arf Yak, and having one, I'd suggest staying with wood framed for the first one. Keeps you in a comfort zone you're used to. Be less expensive as well.

The Aeroworks Katana would be my suggestion out of the group named. Easy to fly.