Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic
Reload this Page >

GP Patty Wagstaff 94db @ 9

Community
Search
Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

GP Patty Wagstaff 94db @ 9

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2003, 12:05 AM
Holton50

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default GP Patty Wagstaff 94db @ 9

Guys, I'm in love with the Great Planes Patty Wagstaff, however our club requires 94db @ 9. I would like to know what engine/muffler/prop combination would work to get me flying.

Thanks in advance
Old 03-02-2003, 12:12 AM
beavertail

Im not an expert here. But a 3 bladed prop would definately help. Are you going gas?
Old 03-02-2003, 01:56 AM
DENNIS C
My Feedback: (99)

what motor are you using
Old 03-02-2003, 02:46 AM
Geistware
My Feedback: (16)

What muffler are you using. A pits Bisson muffler seems to be the quietest for my Brison 2.4
Old 03-02-2003, 12:10 PM
Holton50

I haven't decided on which engine or muffler to use. I was hoping to get a recommendation. But, I was thinking about going gas. Any ideas?
Old 03-02-2003, 12:59 PM
Bob Pastorello
My Feedback: (198)

No one will like this post much, so I'll don the flame suit, but here's how I see the "94 @ 9" rule(s)....they are carryovers from long-past times, when club cronies wanted to exclude;
Racing
Pattern
Warbirds
Giant Scale
or Anything that didn't suit their agenda.

SOME, and likely a few, REAL noise issues arose because people using any of the above toys WOULD NOT MANAGE THEIR NOISE!!! So "rules" were imposed in an effort to gain compliance.

Rules do NOT create "compliance", people do...and rather than effectively deal with personalities, "rules" were rammed through.

Now, the engines, and propeller/muffling systems are much more effective, and some pretty silent AND large combos can be had....BUT - IT will be IMPOSSIBLE to find ANYTHING that will pass THAT rule suitable for the PW Extra!!!