Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis > Helimax
Reload this Page >

Tail Rotor??? question?

Community
Search
Notices
Helimax This is for all your Helimax questions and comments.

Tail Rotor??? question?

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2007, 01:13 AM
Revo_Rash

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tail Rotor??? question?

I'm new to the whole heli thing. And I know that the AXE CP is not the same as a belt driven tail. But when I throttle up it takes almost half throttle before my tail rotor will spin up on it's own. the whole time I'm throttling up I have to hold pretty hard right tail before the system will take over, is this normal?
Old 08-13-2007, 01:27 AM
s_mcflurry

Default RE: Tail Rotor??? question?

Yes, mine behaves the same way. If you've trimmed it so that the head is still holding (more or less) while hovering then that's about right.
Old 08-13-2007, 01:36 AM
Revo_Rash

Great thanks, now what does the gyro setting on the 3 in 1 do for the heli if adjusted? sorry so many questions just trying to learn all I can about it.
Old 08-13-2007, 02:09 AM
s_mcflurry

From the manual:
Gyro Gain – Turn clockwise to increase gain. Typically too little gyro gain causes the tail to slowly move around and drift. With the gyro gain too high, you will notice a very fast oscillation in the tail known as "Wag." This adjustment is not very critical so please don’t spend a lot of time trying to get "the best" setting possible.

Tail Rotor Trim – If the helicopter wants to drift one direction in a stable hover then try using this adjustment. The adjustment is very sensitive so only make small changes. Turn clockwise to add right tail rotor trim.
Comments: