Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

just wondering

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2005, 10:14 PM
slugsdaone

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default just wondering

i am totally new to this hobbyand was wondering if anyone can tell me the pros and cons of nitro vs. electric rc cars ie. is one faster than the other ,more durable etc. etc.
Old 12-05-2005, 10:37 PM
R/C fan-addict

Default RE: just wondering

electric is easy to use and is very simple just pull the car out of the box charge up the batteries hook them up to the car and drive! electric is slower and less realistic than nitro usually but offers the ease of use and new comer friendliness

nitro is more complicated with all the extra stuff you need to buy, the break in, tuning, and the sheer power of nitro engines break parts more often so one must feel comfortable to do maittenance and occasionally take apart parts of the car to replace parts. Nitro is usually faster and is more realistic

electric is not so loud so you can drive it in populated areas without pissing off the neighbors

with nitro not so much

electric is also way less expensive than nitro because not only is the price of the car lower but also the cost of maintaining the car is lower without the need for fuel, after run oil, air filter oil, replacement parts, glow plugs, and equipment needed to start the car such as glow starters, receiver batteries, temp guage, failsafe...
Old 12-05-2005, 10:39 PM
E-snake
My Feedback: (2)

I'll give you the pros and cons, but most would say just to read threads. I have both so I know well.

Electric
Quiet
clean
slower than nitro (exception is brushless. Electric cars are capable of higher speeds than nitro, but this is very expensive. Nitro gives you the most speed for your buck)
Must recharge batteries.
short runtimes