Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Ignition Module Placement

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2011, 05:45 PM
douglas racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ignition Module Placement

I've got the bug to start working on my Bud Nosen 1/4 scale Citabria again and so today I mounted a CRRC 40 on it, inverted. I'm new to gas and was looking for advice on the ignition placement. Originally I was thinking of the back of the firewall but I found that it fits on the front of the firewall directly behind the crankshaft with about a millimeter to spare on each side between it and the aluminum stand offs and about 3/4 of a inch from the back of the crankcase. Would this be a good place to mount it? Would engine heat be a problem? My understanding was the farther from the radio the better. Any input would be appreciated. Thanks
Old 03-23-2011, 07:20 PM
Tired Old Man
My Feedback: (1)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Ignition Module Placement

You will never have interference WITH the ignition. You can have interference BECAUSE of the ignition. Some ignitions are better than others in that respect. I don't know what the CRRC has.

Heat is a very great enemy of ignition systems, regardless of maker, but again some ignitions are much more tolerant of heat than others. Consider how much heat will be radiated by the muffler that will impact the ignition. the back of an engine normally, and I repeat normally, does not generate a tremendous amount of heat. The jighest generators of heat are the cylinder head and the muffler.

Will the heat radiated by the head and muffler become trapped inside a cowl? If so, reconsider the location of the ignition. Inside the firewall would probably be better since that area generally does not receive or trap much heat from the engine compartment.
Old 03-24-2011, 06:30 AM
douglas racer