Community
Search
Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

Choke setup on DA 50

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2005, 03:26 PM
RCFREEK

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Choke setup on DA 50

Im new to gassers. I just built a WM 80in extra and fitted it with a DA 50. A few friends of mine have the choke activated thru a manual nyrod mechanism. Is that the right way or do we do it with a servo? Pls advise and also show engine setup photos if possible, especially choke servo pics. Also, is a 14 oz dubro tank enough for 12 mins flights? Where do we mount the pipe coming from the tank exhaust outlet? what refuelling mechanisms do you all use?
Old 10-22-2005, 05:49 PM
Ken Bryant
My Feedback: (10)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Choke setup on DA 50

A few friends of mine have the choke activated thru a manual nyrod mechanism. Is that the right way or do we do it with a servo? Pls advise and also show engine setup photos if possible, especially choke servo pics.
Either way is correct, you can use a servo to allow for an alternate way to shut off the engine. I personnally use a servo. As for pictures, not really needed just set it up the same as a throttle control rod. Really easy...

Also, is a 14 oz dubro tank enough for 12 mins flights? ?
12 minutes, yea, you should be able to get that. I have a 16oz tank in mine and I land after 10 minutes and it's still has half a tank.

Where do we mount the pipe coming from the tank exhaust outlet?
Most people just port this out the bottom. Just a piece of fuel line. No pipe neccessary

what refuelling mechanisms do you all use?
I use a Hand Crank that is safe for gas. Make sure all your fuel system is GAS safe. You will need "tygon" fuel line and a different rubber stoppper for your fuel tank Dubro makes these if you go looking.
Old 10-22-2005, 06:36 PM
RCFREEK