Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Car General Discussions
Reload this Page >

Redcat tornado exp pro battery or esc

Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Redcat tornado exp pro battery or esc

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2013, 04:24 PM
jm8186

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Redcat tornado exp pro battery or esc

I'm new to rc and got my redcat which came with a ni-hm 7.2 battery and brushless 3300kv 540 motor. I charged the battery for 10 hrs. It run great for about 15 min then it started lurching and the light on the bottom of the esc was flashing when pulled throttle. The Battery was completely dead about 2 min later is the batterys that bad or is it the esc.
Old 10-11-2013, 08:07 AM
john01374

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

The Battery isn't "bad" it just doesn't have the power to run for more than 10-15 minutes.

Get yourself a decent 2S 5000 LiPo pack and Charger from Hobby King and you'll be much happier. A charger and a couple of batteries should be less than $100.

Do some homework as LiPo packs do have some specific handling needs that you need to be familiar with.

If you have specific questions feel free to send me a PM. I'm always willing to help.
Old 10-11-2013, 02:25 PM
nitrosportsandrunner

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

yep, 10-15 min on the stock pack. a better 5000mah pack will get you 20 minutes or so.
The lurching you noticed is a function of the ESC. It is when the esc detects low voltage of the battery. This setting is not actually needed for your stock nimh battery....but it is needed for Lipo batteries. Lipo batteries have a lot more power but they cannot be completely drained like a nimh can. If you over drain them they will not re-charge. Thus, the esc cuts power when it detects power from battery is below 6.2v