Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

3 3/4" standoffs?

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2016, 04:27 PM
jrf
My Feedback: (551)

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default 3 3/4" standoffs?

I'm new to gas engines. Am building a P-51 giant scale with a DLE 55RA. In order to get the prop to firewall distance correct, I will have to use 3 3/4" standoffs. That is the 2 3/4" standoff that come with the engine plus another one inch standoff.

It seems to me that the torque of the engine will be constantly trying to twist it off the firewall and the longer the standoffs, the bigger the problem. Can I get away with the longer standoffs, or should I be figuring a way to move the firewall?

TIA,
Jim
Old 04-13-2016, 05:05 PM
flyinwalenda
My Feedback: (5)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If the existing standoffs are through-hole then I would cut a 1"x1.375" hardwood block for each side of the firewall and glue them in place and drill the mounting holes. Get some 4.25" socket head bolts and bolt the engine on using the standoffs with washers and lock nuts on the inside of the firewall.
Old 04-13-2016, 05:16 PM
Propworn
My Feedback: (3)

Received 30 Likes on 24 Posts

Do you need the standoffs to clear a carb or something? If not do like I do and build an extension of the wood motor box and attach it to the stock one eliminating standoffs completely. If the engine has a rear carb I cut a clearance hole and access holes for the adjustment screws. Several lightening holes in the box allow plenty of air in. You can even use some filter media over the holes to create a large volume air filter box. I have even gone so far as removing the old motor box and building a new one eliminating the standoffs completely. Usually there is enough room inside to house the ignition and battery neatly out of sight.

Dennis
Old 04-13-2016, 06:20 PM
Truckracer
My Feedback: (19)

Received 44 Likes on 43 Posts