Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Car General Discussions
Reload this Page >

Advice on purchase question... new to RC

Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Advice on purchase question... new to RC

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2016, 06:37 PM
aythan09

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice on purchase question... new to RC

Hello All. First post on these forums.

Im a bit new to the RC life but I was thinking about making a purchase to give me some outside time with my 6 year old. So, I wanted to keep the price under $500 otd. I will most likely be playing outside in the backyard or at the local park. So, I want a vehicle that can handle soccer field or higher type of grass? Overall, I would want the vehicle to be as durable as possible since this is for a 6 year old and for myself who is new to RC.

At first I was thinking Stampede 4x4. I thought it would be a good purchase since its a monster truck style with higher clearance. But, with higher clearance comes the ability to tip it over easily especially running it in park grass. Then I saw some youtube vids and alot of them are saying Slash 4x4 is a better model for bashing. Lower center of gravity and the the body protects the components a bit better? But, I realize its a lot more expensive. I believe the Traxxas Stampede 4x4 is $300 while the Slash 4x4 is $450. Ideally I would like to purchase an extra battery or two so I can make a park outing last longer than an hour instead of the stock battery so I was thinking Lipo that can at least last 30 min per battery. But, I have no clue which battery would be best for that. Im looking for any hints or ideals from more experienced people like you all.

The questions I truly have are:

1. Stampeded 4x4 vs Slash 4x4?
2. Recommended batteries to extend outing time?