Community
Search
Notices
RC Car Radio Equipment Discuss specific topics related to RC car radios. For general or non rc car specific radio topics please see our regular radio discussion forum.

RUN AWAY TRUCK!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2004, 02:18 PM
vanman
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RUN AWAY TRUCK!!!!

OK, I am a newbie to the RC Car and Truck Scene but have been flying planes for several years so I do have a clue about radio gear....

I finally got my new truck yesterday.....

I stopped out and picked up some fuel, new batteries for the transmitter and receiver and came home prepared to start breaking the motor in......and all started going just fine.

1st tank of gas fine, 2nd fine, 3rd fine, 4th fine during the 5th tank the fail safe came on and no response from the transmitter.....Of course before beginning I verified that when the failsafe is activated the throttle is cut and the brakes are applied....everything checked out fine.

As I was walking up to the truck it went full throttle and took off!!!! Wham, lodged itself under the neighbors trailer and was still running wide open.....I got under the trailer and got the truck shut down, got it out from under the trailer and a casual inspection only showed a couple of things bent but nothing broken..... The failsafe was on red.

I shut off the truck and the radio, and then turned everything back on, the failsafe reset and everything appeared ok.....so I started the truck.....give it gas the engine runs up but does not move.....

I found that I had destroyed the gears in the differentials and had to rebuild them.......

Got that all done this morning took the truck outside again....replaced all of the batteries just to make sure.....1st tank of gas fine, 2nd fine during the 3rd I noticed no response from the radio again..