Ultra stick lite, gas engine?

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2004, 05:44 PM
whidbey1
My Feedback: (9)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ultra stick lite, gas engine?

Hi
I would like to get an ultra stick lite, and a good gas engine for great performance.

What engine have people seen that work great, also what prop is used?

Thanks

Bill
Old 08-24-2004, 08:10 PM
w8ye
My Feedback: (16)

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default RE: Ultra stick lite, gas engine?

Zenoa 26, Homelite chain saw conversions, etc.

Enjoy,

Jim
Old 08-24-2004, 08:36 PM
HOOTER

I have an "Old style" H9 Ultra Stick 120 with a Quadra 35 on it!! This plane flew great at 1/2" throttle, but unfortunally I did not pay enough attention to the linkage and the horns on the elevator and when I went to full throttle I lost it to flutter!!!!!

I am in the process of rebuilding it, it will gain about a pound of weight but seeing how it flew at 1/2 throttle it should be OK!!

This is my first attempt at "Gas" planes and I was using the Stick as a test bed/learning tool.."Boy am I learning"!!!
Old 08-24-2004, 08:40 PM
pilotkelowna
My Feedback: (1)

Saw 2 last weekend - both with MVVS 1.6 and tuned pipe. Excellent combo !!
Old 08-24-2004, 09:31 PM
David_Moen

I'm having a gas with The U-Stick and MVVS 1.60 gas combo. Hovers at half throttle, flies very light, should do very well on floats too! With this engine you can use the stock engine mount. Rudder and elevator servos have to go in the tail to balance, but my RX battery is under the wing. We found a neat way to install the servos inside the fuse so they aren't hanging out in the breeze.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Wu61871.jpg
Views:	229
Size:	52.1 KB
ID:	167232  
Old 08-24-2004, 09:32 PM
REDLAWNPILOT

Go with a Zenoah g26 with an APC 18x6 prop. Great combination!

Jim
Old 08-26-2004, 03:24 PM
wyldman