Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

12 or 13 lb thrust & rookie or roo?

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

12 or 13 lb thrust & rookie or roo?

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2003, 01:18 AM
maverick101
My Feedback: (34)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 12 or 13 lb thrust & rookie or roo?

Does anybody have any comments on the wren 54 or any12 0r 13 lb thrust motor in the rookie or kangaroo? Flight performance, handling characteristics??

Any info on this combo is appreciated !!!

Thanks

Tom
Old 08-11-2003, 07:48 PM
maverick101
My Feedback: (34)

Default re-post

post edited
Old 08-11-2003, 09:56 PM
klave
My Feedback: (17)

I'm no expert but I would have to say that it would fly both jet's but you would not have any power to spear in case of an emergency (hard to land sometimes) and you would be flying at full throttle all the time hard on the turbine. I have a RAM750 in my rookie and I wish I had more power. On the + side you would
save weight.
Old 08-12-2003, 02:58 PM
Bill_Jehle
My Feedback: (1)

Tom,

I have been flying a composite Roo for a couple years now, first with a RAM 500, and now a PST J600. It had fixed gear and weighed around 12 to 13 pounds dry. I flew very nice. I'm guessing the top end was around 150. Flying characteristics were much like my Roo with a RAM 1000, but slower and it did not have unlimited vertical performance. I have just put retracts in it, but have not flown it yet in this configuration to give a report.
Old 08-12-2003, 03:18 PM
JET FX

Default MW54

The ROO 2 flys just fine with 12lb thrust turbines and up, like Bill says the only big difference is not having the unlimited vertical and 200+mph top end.
My Roo with 12 lb thrust MW54 and Robart gear etc. weighs 14.5 lb wet, and performs just great, with still pleanty of thrust in reserve...you will be flying at about 1/2 to 3/4 throttle at cruise (approx 120-140mph)