Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

futaba esc replacement

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2012, 09:55 AM
jackdaniels7

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default futaba esc replacement

I am new to r/c but I have a vintage car from my son who died that I have tried to setup for his nephew. In setting it up it appears that the futaba mc 112b failed since it stopped working and is very hot when the battery is connected. Since this is vintage I am having trouble finding a direct replacement and wonder if I can use other speed controllers that are for brush motors and are plug compatible with the receiver? Thank you in advance for your help.
Old 04-10-2012, 10:29 AM
Eman77

Default RE: futaba esc replacement

To give you the short answer, yes, you can use other ESCs - you just have to find the right one. That's where our help comes in.

To give you a more thorough answer, it will help to know what vehicle it is, that the ESC will go into. Also, are NiMh batteries, or LiPo ones being used? If it's "vintage", odds are it's NiMh, but I want to be sure.

Also, any idea what the motor is? Brushed you say, but how many turns (27 turns is stock, 19 turns is faster, etc - the ESC must be rated to handle it)? If it's just the stock motor that came with the vehicle, it's likely 27T...but it's good to be 100% sure.

Also, if you have no clue on some of the answers here, posting pics (if possible) of the vehicle (with and without the shell on), the motor, connectors, always helps. There are a large variety of connectors out there, for example, so it's hard to point you to what you should buy without knowing what will work with what you already have.

I'm sorry to hear about your son, by the way. You have my condolences.
Old 04-10-2012, 01:39 PM
jackdaniels7