Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Tire changing

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2012, 01:16 PM
JollyPopper
My Feedback: (6)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tire changing

This is probably a very basic question for those of you who know the answer but I am a total newbie in cars and trucks. The question concerns replacing a set of tires on a stadium truck. I understand these things are glued on with CA. How can the existing tires be removed if they are glued with CA. That stuff is tough.
Old 12-19-2012, 01:45 PM
proptop
My Feedback: (8)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Tire changing

One method is to soak the wheel / tire in Acetone...
I've used a small butter tub w/ snap on lid...put a half inch or so of Acetone and wheel in and snap on the lid...let it soak for an hour or two...the soaked side will come off the rim....then flip over and do the other side. It takes a while...but the rims will be re-useable afterward. (after cleaning glue residue off )

Some guys say to boil them in water...but that method never worked for me.

After doing the above several times, it's MUCH easier to just buy new rims...(less grumbling, %^#@*!etc. etc. )
Old 12-19-2012, 01:51 PM
mattster1971

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts