Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

RC for Underwater Camera at Pool

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2013, 11:56 AM
dlucerod

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RC for Underwater Camera at Pool

Howdy all -

I'm new to RC, and I need some help. (Don't worry, I read the before you ask stupid questions forum). I'm a swim coach for a local high school and club team, and I want to set up an underwater camera system for stroke analysis & feedback. Only a few companies offer this kind of merch, and its mad expensive, so I'm trying to see what I can't put together on my own/ with the help of the internet!

My goal is something similar to this:

http://www.orcaswimtracker.com/Video.html

I've got a GoPro Hero 3 camera with the underwater housing and all the toys, and I may be looking into making custom housing so that I can run some cables up and out of the water (to eliminate the downtime from taking the camera out, plugging it in, uploading the vids, etc.)

Here's my basic info:
I've driven RC cars but nothing more than the Walmart Xmas present kid's stuff.
My budget is flexible up to ~$500 I would say, but I'm willing to consider anything.
The pool has a gutter with a lip, which would create an easy track to drive straight forward and backward.
It would need to be able to put out enough torque to push/pull a thin pipe/camera set up (~3 feet underwater) through the water. (I would more than likely drill it directly onto the car.)
The car wouldn't need to be in the water, but waterproofing/survivability very important. (I'd be willing to custom proof hardware and experiment)
I am comfortable building/experimenting, and there are several local hobby shops here.