Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Tanks
Reload this Page >

HL Panzer IV metal drive wheel and return roller issue

Community
Search
Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

HL Panzer IV metal drive wheel and return roller issue

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2016, 06:58 PM
SubGuy05

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HL Panzer IV metal drive wheel and return roller issue

Hello all, I am new to this hobby and just got my first HL PIV. I am in the process of putting on metal tracks, drive wheels, and idlers. It still has the plastic road wheels and return rollers. I had three questions.

1. How tight should the drive wheel be screwed in? There were no instructions.

2. 3 of eight return rollers were frozen solid with glue and from over-tightened screws and would not turn. I had to separate them and loosen the screws, and now I am wondering the best method for putting them back together is? Regular old modeling glue?

3. It seems easier to get the new metal tracks on with the hull taken off (clearing those fender spaces), am I doing this wrong?

Any help would be appreciated. I am 100% new to this. Thanks!
Old 07-30-2016, 04:20 AM
TheBennyB

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Welcome to the hobby and this forum! For the sprocket, it should be snug on the output shaft then screwed on tightly. For the roadwheels and return wheels you could use model glue though I've used a bit of shoe goop so that you can get back into them if need be for maintenance. Remember to get some paint on those metal sprockets and idlers!! Show us some pics when you get her up and running.
Old 07-30-2016, 05:44 AM
philipat

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

What he said...

Tracks are generally tough to get on and off. If you want to leave the top on, I've found two ways to do it.

1) Take off the sprocket and "pull" the track with you. Do the reverse to put it back on.