Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Tanks
Reload this Page >

Request for 1/16th Scale Panther G airbrushing tips

Community
Search
Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

Request for 1/16th Scale Panther G airbrushing tips

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2019, 12:46 PM
sturmgrenadier

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Request for 1/16th Scale Panther G airbrushing tips

Hello folks. I am new to airbrushing. Could anyone please suggest to me some tips on how to airbrush paint my 1/16th scale Taigen Panther G? Specifically, I would like to paint a three color pattern. In one hobby guidebook, I read that silly putty works well as a 'masking tool', because it is easily shaped and doesn't lift up the paint underneath. I might give this technique a try with my 1/35th scale tank models. But it doesn't sound practical for larger models: I think it would take too much putty to cover large patches of my 1/16th scale tank. So how else can I accomplish painting three color camo (so that it looks realistic)?

One other related question, I read that dark yellow was the standard base coat for Panthers (beginning in 1943) and that red brown and olive green were also used. I found German dark yellow and German red brown paint (made by a company called Vallejo). But I am not having any luck finding a German green paint made by any company. If anyone could advise me, I would sure appreciate it. With my 1/16th scale Tiger I (early model), airbrushing was an easier task because historically (if I read correctly) such tanks were painted in one color (dark grey) in the earlier years. But I am really stumbling around trying to find the right way to paint my Panther G
Old 08-04-2019, 04:49 PM
Crius

Received 318 Likes on 262 Posts