Go Back  RCU Forums > Glow Engines, Gas Engines, Fuel & Mfg Support Forums > Gas Engines
Reload this Page >

Does anyone have tips on carb adjustments on gas engines?

Community
Search
Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Does anyone have tips on carb adjustments on gas engines?

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2002, 04:17 AM
crash and burn
My Feedback: (19)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Does anyone have tips on carb adjustments on gas engines?

I am new at using gasoline engines. I own 2 Brison 3.2's and 1 Brison 6.4.

I am not familiar with how to identify if I am running too lean or rich on the high and low needle setting.

Any suggestions on what I should be listening for and whether I should lean out or richen up???

Thanks,

C&B
Old 05-11-2002, 10:30 AM
Geoffbob
My Feedback: (12)

Okay, I'll be the first! I'll start off by saying you really want to invest in a good tach; I use the TNC ('bout $100) which is a lot less sensitive of ambient light than cheaper units... Take your time to set the needles; it's very time-consuming but once they're set, you really don't need to mess with them. Low speed adjustments will also affect the top end.
Hi speed- adjust for max rpm, then richen by approx 300 rpm. Too rich and the engine gets blubbery, too lean and the engine will sound a little "flat" and have a slight misfire. Hard to describe, but pretty distinctive when you hear it. When you get close to max rpm, make adjustments in 1/8 turn increments.
The low speed needle is actually easier to adjust, in my opinion... too rich and the idle speed will gradually decrease, and transition to full throttle will sputter; too lean and you will get a cough when you advance the throttle, then immediate high rpm.