Community
Search
Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

Lanier 40% Edge 540

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2003, 02:18 PM
dork_blaster
My Feedback: (14)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lanier 40% Edge 540

Couldn't pass on their Thanksgiving sale, so I ordered one of these. Anyone built/have one? Weight, CG, etc.,... The sound police are pretty active at our site, so I'm using a ZDZ160 into some JMB canisters and from the looks of it, I will need to do some modifications to the fuse for this to happen.

Hoping everyone has a nice Christmas and Holidays!

DB
Old 12-01-2003, 03:23 PM
Geistware
My Feedback: (16)

Default RE: Lanier 40% Edge 540

If I was a builder I would get a couple of their specials as well!
Old 12-01-2003, 10:20 PM
cygnet
My Feedback: (33)

I have built the 40% Staudacher came in at 35lbs and is a great flyier. I also used a ZDZ160 on tuned cans took a little thought but the install went quite well, outstanding performance.
Old 12-02-2003, 12:47 AM
dork_blaster

Gosh darn, the Staudacher would've been my first choice because:

1) Uniqueness, not too many of that type around my parts (there are ZILLIONS of Extras, followed by Caps and Edges)
2) It was cheaper (God knows how much I like bargains!)

BUT... it didn't look like (from the pictures) that cans could be installed easily[:@]

So that's why I settled on the Edge, and I know that cans have been installed in planes of this type (if the dimensions are even close to the Carden kit).

I'm not getting too many bites on this post, stay tuned for more. I will post pix and reports on progress as I have time. I just placed the order this morning, maybe if I call in and change it to the Staudacher.... don't get me going! Am I talking to myself here? Don't answer that! Time for my meds, I guess...

Cheers!

DB
Old 12-02-2003, 07:44 PM
cygnet