Community
Search
Notices
Control Lines For all you fly-by-wire fanatics!

dizzy newbie

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2003, 07:51 PM
rnlocnil

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default dizzy newbie

Haven't flown my 1/2A Deweybird yet, but when I try to practice spinning I still get dizzy and a bit sick feeling when doing 3 or 4 second "laps" without the plane. I'm using a Cox off of one of those plastic jobs I found in the garbage. I guess part of the deal is to try to get the lines as long as I can and still pull. Does that mean I should get rid of the soft lines that come with the Brodak handle? How long can I safely make the lines? Is there another way to not get dizzy? Even when I look at my extended hand instead of the wall, I get dizzy by the time a minute goes by.

Another approach, which I'd rather not take, is to use my RC OS FP.10 and make a bigger model, tho I don't recall one for .010 size.

Thanks

P.S. I have lots of RC (and ff) experience, whatever that will be worth.
Old 12-27-2003, 07:52 PM
rnlocnil

Default RE: dizzy newbie

oops, meant to hook up email to this. SOrry
Old 12-27-2003, 09:23 PM
clscale-RCU
My Feedback: (7)

.049 powered models fly on specific length lines, be carefull about making the lines longer, it may not even fly with the long lines.

I would get rid of the soft string for the lines and use actual braided lines, like you said from brodak.

about getting dizzy:

1) .049 powered models still get me dizzy so some degree, I have flown 18 lb models on CL with 65 foot lines and they fly much slower and don't get dizzy at all. The bottom line is you have to keep you eye on the model, let the background become a blur and pay attention to the ground level for obvious reasons.

2) if you build a larger model then you find the lines are longer, the model flies slower and you won't get dizzy as much.

Good luck and stay above ground

Fred Cronenwett
Old 12-27-2003, 10:06 PM
Clean

Received 26 Likes on 19 Posts