Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis
Reload this Page >

Micro Heli Selection Help For Veteran Gas Flyer

Community
Search
Notices
Electric RC Helis Discuss electric rc heli's such as the Piccolo, Logo 10, Logo 20, Hornet, Eco.

Micro Heli Selection Help For Veteran Gas Flyer

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2004, 06:25 PM
Tommygun
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Micro Heli Selection Help For Veteran Gas Flyer

Hi all, I'm new to the electric heli hobby, and I'm considering buying a Hummingbird. I used to fly gas helis a long time ago, to include a Hirobo Shuttle, a Kyosho Concept 30, and a Schluter Champion .60. I could fly them around okay, but never mastered nor attempted any aerobatics. However, I haven't flown a helicopter of any sort in about 8 years. Would it still be a wise move to start out with a fixed pitch model even though I've never flown one? Also, I have a Futaba 8UAPS set up for airplane use though it has a heli program menu. The only difference is the ratcheting throttle lever. Will this present a problem? And finally, can someone recommend some high quality onboard gear that I can use in the Hummingbird with my existing TX? I'm thinking FMA direct microservos and FMA LiPo packs. What RX/Gyro/Escs do you recommend? Thanks for your time and patience with this potential newbie.
Old 07-09-2004, 07:14 AM
VinceHerman

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Micro Heli Selection Help For Veteran Gas Flyer

Hi Tommygun,
The micro helis will be much more challenging than the IC ones you flew. Brother #1 has both, and he says that his IC heli is WAY more stable. (but IC crashes cost more than an entire electric kit)
The hummingbird is a good heli. I have a buddy who has one and it is well behaved. My family has a fleet of Piccolos, which are also well behaved.