Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF
Reload this Page >

WARNING!! GP Giant Scale PT-19 landing gear

Community
Search
Notices
ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

WARNING!! GP Giant Scale PT-19 landing gear

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2004, 06:39 PM
hookemut
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default WARNING!! GP Giant Scale PT-19 landing gear

I am a very disappointed modeler! I had placed great hopes in the Great Planes Giant PT-19, matched with my new OS-FS91 II. The combo matched great, and the PT flew like a dream-until the landing gear failures began. The gear legs are the conventional 'Z' shape with one leg of the Z forming the landing gear strut with the other, shorter leg bent up and pressed into a hole in the wing at the inboard end of the gear mounting channel. It is this leg which MUST be restrained against landing loads. Mine became unrestrained to the point that they freely flopped fore and aft. Contact with Great Planes was totally useless;in the contact's view that since it was an ARF, they knew nothing that might have caused the failure, and offered no help at all.
I opened up one side of the wing in order to see how a fix might be affected. To my deep disgust, I found that the 'hardwood' block which formed the mounting channel had split. Further investigation showed that an additional block designed to restrain the short, 'anti-rotation' leg was unglued and loose!! I'm sure that the other gear has the same defect.
I have been supportive of ARF's place in our hobby, however shoddy workmanship presented by one of the preeminent names in our hobby is sad. I cannot as yet come up with a fix for this lousy workmanship-so what was a lovely addition to my enjoyment of this hobby is ended!
Old 07-18-2004, 06:33 PM
davidmor

Default RE: WARNING!! GP Giant Scale PT-19 landing gear