Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis
Reload this Page >

aerohawk won't lift off ground

Community
Search
Notices
Electric RC Helis Discuss electric rc heli's such as the Piccolo, Logo 10, Logo 20, Hornet, Eco.

aerohawk won't lift off ground

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2004, 05:35 PM
skiwe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default aerohawk won't lift off ground

Hello all.

I'm new to electric helicopters, and this forum has been VERY helpful.

I recently purchased the Aerohawk. After some initial problems with the servos and motors being plugged into the receiver incorrectly, I'm finally able to power the heli up.

It seems now that it doesn't have enough power to lift off the ground. I have 2 batteries both of which have gone through multiple charges with no luck with either. I also did some checking on all of the moving parts and have sanded all that needed it.

I've read where most people will just pop the heli up to clear the ground effect, but mine doesn't seem to want to lift that high. At full throttle, it will jump about 1 1/2 feet then come right back down (not crashing), but unable to even maintain a constant height off the ground.

I've done some of the mods I found here (ie. holes in extra blades, washer between main gear and bearing) and still no luck.

I'm now wondering if the Like90 upgrade kit it the way to go. If this is the case, what is the difference with the normal (blade, motor, head stiffener) and the inverted version.

Thanks ahead of time for any help anyone can give and again thanks for all of the posts here, they have been very helpful and informative.
Old 08-16-2004, 05:59 PM
Sabot

Default RE: aerohawk won't lift off ground

it just sounds like the motor isnt pushing out enough power.. check the soldering

Paris
Old 08-16-2004, 06:01 PM
skiwe

This is brand new.... by the way...

What do you mean the soldering?

Also, I just read about shooting WD-40 into the motor could help.
Old 08-16-2004, 09:55 PM
UKgroucho