Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Starting magneto gassers

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2002, 01:01 AM
Fishstyx
My Feedback: (15)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Starting magneto gassers

I'm new to gas engines and recently picked up a used mustang 50. I was having serious trouble starting it, flipping till soaked with sweat. I choked it, flipped till it popped, then opened the choke and flipped some more, but no fire. I researched the past threads here for starting tips (especially with magneto engines) and have seen everything from people using bats to flip a prop to spark assist systems. Most of the options involved spending significant money for things like electric starters.

After ensuring that I was getting a spark (although a weak one) I solved my starting problems with a very small shot of carb cleaner / starter. The thing starts easily (after choking to get fuel in the carb) with just a few flips after a shot of the stuff and runs great.

Does anyone else do this? Am I damaging the engine? I was just surprised that I hadn't seen this option mentioned in my previous searches (although no too thorough).

Jason
Old 08-07-2002, 02:08 AM
Geistware
My Feedback: (16)

I had to install a spring on my engine to start it. While I don't know if starter fluid is the best thing to use, I would recommend checking if you can get a spring for your engine.
Old 08-07-2002, 08:05 AM
Pelle Gris

Hi Jason...

I don´t have a Mustang 50 but a G-62, and I have found it to be very easy to start. In my experience there are two things that has to be present for the engine to start.

The first is gas. Using the built-in choke I rock the prop back and forth against the compression until gas is dripping from the carb, and the engine makes a slight "squishy" sound.