Community
Search
Notices
HPI Monster Truck Forum Talk about HPI monster trucks here. The infamous Savage 21, SS, .25 or any other HPI MT. You can optionally discuss HPI in our general MT discussion forum if you prefer.

Newbie Savage SS Planning, Help?

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2006, 09:36 AM
Nitroxda

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie Savage SS Planning, Help?

First post here, been reading for awhile though[8D]

Okay, I have been a Traxxas guy all along, planning to get into Savage now.

I had my mind set on Savage X, maybe even the kit SS 46 X. I intend to order the truck plus all the upgrade I want at once so I can save some shipment cost, my LHS here don't have all the goodies and even if they do carry some, the price is ridiculous.
I bash only, none of my truck see track at all, so I don't mind rollcage, dual tanks and other heavy stuffs
Problem is, I have Zero knowledge about Savage[], please advise on my plan here:
I was going to get:
- Savage X or Savage 46 X kit?
- 3 speed gears
- Reverse module, possible with 3 speed?
- Steel spur, what size?
- Aluminium Skid, what brand?
- Fuel tank guard, is it useless?
- Wheelie bar, from HPI any good?
- Additional Heli header tank, to stop tank lean out issue.
- Diff, what upgrade is there?

Please correct if any items above is a mistake, and add some from your experience.

TIA everyone
Old 09-17-2006, 10:16 AM
Nitroxda

Default RE: Newbie Savage SS Planning, Help?

Oh, I miss out a few things.....
- Is OS 30VG (said to be direct drop-in) a good upgrade? Otherwise what other drop in engine should I go for?
- Glow plugs, need some for spares, what brand to use?
- I think X come with pull start, is it better with the rotor start?

Thanks again!
Old 09-17-2006, 10:22 AM
Sparco