Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

servos and gas engines

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2006, 11:32 AM
Angus McDonald

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default servos and gas engines

Hi Guys, I'm new to gas and wondering how close is too close to mount a servo for throttle control, I'm thinking of a couple of engine positions and one would suggest I mount the servo about 2 inches away from the coil and pick-up...how much of a negative effect if any will the coil/high tension lead or pick-up have on the servo?

Thanks for reading

Angus
Old 10-07-2006, 01:40 PM
carlosponti
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: servos and gas engines

the rule of thumb i have heard is around 12 inched away from the engine. mounting in the firewall will have adverse problems. i would say if you are serious about trying it do a range check with the engine running and without the engine running. but i have a feeling you are going to have problems.
Old 10-08-2006, 12:02 AM
Tired Old Man

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Depends a lot on how well you pay attention to the quality of the equipment you intend to use, and the manner in which you set everything up. The 12" rule of thumb was originally designed in the days of mostly magneto engines and early ignition systems. It's extremely common today to see throttle servos mounted on or very close to the engine mounting box to take advantage of a direct shot with the linkage and/or a balance situation.

Some people pay little attention to much of anything and just slam a plane together, ending up with nothing but electrical problems. Those that do a good job with good equipment rarely have any problem at all.
Old 10-08-2006, 06:11 AM
bob_nj
My Feedback: (62)

In situations where I didn't have another choice but to mount the throttle servo in an other than
ideal position, I've used fiber optic extensions with good success.

If you do a search on this board you'll find some good threads on the subject.