Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Gas Boats
Reload this Page >

Radio and servo suggestions

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

Radio and servo suggestions

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2007, 03:39 PM
fowlmood77

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Radio and servo suggestions

I (like a few others I have seen recently here) am attempting to build a 48" woody with a Homelite engine. After lurking in a few sites and learning as much as I can, I still have questions. 1-What are the differences between the AM and FM controllers? 2-What kind of torque do I need to be looking for for the steering and throttle servos? Will a basic servo work for the throttle and a high torque work for steering? I am sure I will have more questions as this build goes on and I believe I am in good hands here. Yes I am a newbie
Old 04-22-2007, 05:08 PM
Flabum

Default RE: Radio and servo suggestions

The difference between AM and FM is price and signal reliability. Am is cheaper, but the FM has a clearer, more reliable signal.

A standard servo will be fine for the throttle, a futaba S3303 or similar will work. The steering servo should b a heavy duty servo preferably with ball bearings and metal gears as well as be high torque for not only ability but logevity. I reccomend a 1/4 scale servo such as a Futaba 5301 or similar, if room does not allow such a big servo, then a Futaba 3305 at 6 volts will do. The 3305 is half the torque of the 5301, you will be putting far less stress on the 1/4 servo so it will last longer. You will need a y-connector to hook the steering servo straight to the battery.
Old 04-22-2007, 05:11 PM
martno1fan

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts