Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Tips & Techniques
Reload this Page >

YS 140 DZ fuel problem

Community
Search
Notices
Tips & Techniques Want to share a tip or special technique you have either in the workshop or at the flying field or race track? Post it right here!

YS 140 DZ fuel problem

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2007, 02:27 AM
Selle

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default YS 140 DZ fuel problem

Hi!

I’m a happy Danish rc pilot. At the time not so happy, because of my YS 140 DZ. The engine is mounted in a CMpro Giles 202 140. I have flown about 4 hours with the aircraft, mounted with the YS engine, and there have been no problems at all. Then, a sunny Sunday, the engine would not start. I checked the glow plug, the fuel filters, the tubes, the tank, the quick fuel valve, the fuel pump at the engine, the diaphragm at the regulator, and I checked the carburettor and the inside of the pump for dirt. Everything seemed to be normal. I concluded (by watching at the tube ) that there was no fuel, entering the carburettor. I checked the fuel line again, and nothing was stopped, and no air leaked from any tubes. I tried to let the engine suck fuel from another tank, and the problem was still there. Hmm, disappointed, I put the Giles back in the car again, and I went home. A few days later, I tried to start it up again. Now, there were no problems at all, the engine started at the first spin, and ran as it was supposed to. That day, I flew about an hour, and had no problems. Then, a couple of days later, the problem went back, and is still there. The engine can start, if it gets a few drops of fuel directly into the carburettor, but I only run at the drops it gets. The engine is not able to suck fuel. The fuel I use is with 20% nitromethane and 20% ML-70 oil. What can be wrong? I have tried 1000 things, cleaned carburettor and pump, changed plug, tubes, filters, valves and so on. A little help from you guys would be very nice (So I can become happy again )