Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Electric or Nitro RC Car?

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2007, 08:54 PM
DaveTurnbull

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Electric or Nitro RC Car?

Hi,

I'm new to RC Cars and would like to buy one within the next few days. I was just wondering what the benefits and disadvantages of Electric and Nitro RC cars? Do I have to purchase fuel for Nitro cars (ongoing costs?)?

Any information is appreciated.
Old 07-03-2007, 09:03 PM
happywing

Default RE: Electric or Nitro RC Car?

You can do a search and find a bazillion threads on the subject. It usually ends up as a debate.
I've been heavily involved in both. Brushless and battery (LiPo) technology has brought me back to electric. I find electric to be more reliable and just as fast. There are a few things that I miss about nitro, but not enough to own one anymore.
For a beginner, I think most would agree that electric is a little bit easier.
Old 07-03-2007, 09:21 PM
Nick2618

Do you want to buy expensive fuel or expensive charger and batteries? Also do you want to learn to tune a nitro engine? Or just plug a battery in and drive?

I personaly like nitro smell sound and no stopping to recharge batteries. Also you can get alot of attention driving a nitro around.
Old 07-03-2007, 11:32 PM
annie_himself

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Bah! Who needs attention if its not girls!

Electric:
More expensive to start up because of batteries (3 is ideal) and a peak charger (also ideal). Quiet and can be bade to be faster than nitros, but never stock. You can drive almost anytime of the day and even in the house.
Virtually free to drive because the batteries can virtually be used non-stop w/o having to buy gallons at a time.

Nitro: