Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Gas Boats
Reload this Page >

gas cat layup questions

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

gas cat layup questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2008, 10:19 AM
mike the snake

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default gas cat layup questions

I recently bought a set of molds for a gas cat.

I am experienced with composites.

I am new to boats however.

I pulled a part, but encountered problems.

3 layers of 9oz cloth seemed light, what, and how much glass do others use? Is the mold laid up with large, single sheets of glass, or smaller pieces cut to fit?

The glass formed air pockets around all sharp corners and edges. How can I prevent this? I'm thinking of doing a Pre-layup with really light glass in all the trouble areas, and then moving on to the actual layup?

Should I use a thickened mix of resin poured into all the trouble areas (edges and corners)

The gelcoat was really thick, and didn't spray on evenly, and there were areas that looked as if they never kicked off (these areas WERE along the air pockets in the glass as well).

This is my first experience with polyester resin and gelcoat. I have only used epoxy resins to this point.

Thanks for any help.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Us52515.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	69.6 KB
ID:	908464   Click image for larger version

Name:	Uq49527.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	68.8 KB
ID:	908465  
Old 03-20-2008, 10:45 AM
glennb2006

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: gas cat layup questions

Stick with epoxy resin if you are used to it, should make for a stronger hull anyway. And can be lighter.

Glenn
Old 03-20-2008, 11:23 AM
martno1fan