Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric On-Road vehicles, race cars and more Discuss electric RC on-road vehicles here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers, brushed motors, etc

New to the touring car world

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2008, 08:31 PM
Vaderbxman

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to the touring car world

As the title suggests, I'm a complete noob when it comes to touring cars. I'm looking into getting one because despite numerous efforts to help get a crowd to come back to our local RC track, it just isn't working. I'm itching for an RC fix, and I've been looking around for a suitable fix, and I think I found one.

I recently got a job working for a grocery store in town, and its connected to a HUGE parking lot that's never used. I was thinking about it on my break one day and thought it would be cool to race a touring car around in there. But, I don't know much.

What I do know is that there's two major types of drivetrains (belt and shaft). I read that shaft driven tends to have a more direct feel between the motor and the wheels, while belt drive gives a little to smooth things out. I'm looking into running my Mamba Max system in it once I get a new motor, so I think I want a belt drive.

I'd like to get suggestions on what kind of company to turn to for a suitable chassi. It doesn't have to be top-of-the-line because I'll just be racing myself, but I would like a chassi that feels solid and not cheap. I'd also like one that can handle the abuse that a first timer with a touring car can dish out. I'll admit I'm not the greatest driver, and would prefer if I don't have to drop 15 bucks every time I smack something. As far a pricing goes, I'm just trying to get a feel of what this is going to cost. I'll look at the most expensive and the least, and probably shoot for in between.

I'm eyeballing Xray, Tamiya, Kyosho, and maybe Losi. Thanks in advance!!!

Xray
Old 06-10-2008, 08:59 PM
annie_himself

Received 1 Like on 1 Post