Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

I wanna build my own jet engine. What does it take?

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

I wanna build my own jet engine. What does it take?

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2003, 12:26 AM
adam_jorgensen

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I wanna build my own jet engine. What does it take?

Something that I know I have a passion for and really want to do is build my own jet turbine engine. I really want to do this, but how much money and knowledge do you have to have to do this? I'm no aerospace engineer or jet engine designer, but how hard can it be? It will probably cost a lot of money too (how much?) I was hooked when I saw some pictures of some small turbine engines. I would love to build one like the one in the picture below. If anybody has advice on this, I think I need all the advice I can get. I have zero experience with turbines.

Old 05-25-2003, 01:10 AM
ajcoholic
My Feedback: (10)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I had the same thoughts for a few years myself. I suggest you first buy Thomas Kamps 2nd edition book on model turbine engines. It covers the details of construction and theory very well.

I myself bought a Wren kit last year, it was a very, very good experience and I highly recommend it as a first step. You get to see the inner parts and get a feel for putting it together even though you dont actually "make" any of the parts it gives you confidence in the process, and also gets you familiar with running them.