Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis
Reload this Page >

good beginner heli?

Community
Search
Notices
Electric RC Helis Discuss electric rc heli's such as the Piccolo, Logo 10, Logo 20, Hornet, Eco.

good beginner heli?

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2003, 11:48 PM
electricfan
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default good beginner heli?

i have a few years of experience in rc planes, and i want to get an electric heli because they are quiet and you can fly them anywhere. it is a debate between the regular Piccolo, and the ECO 8. i asked hobby lobby which is better for a beginner, and they said the piccolo is better. i need some feedback from some of you who have one of these. thanks
Old 06-05-2003, 08:14 AM
Dodgey99

OK, you really should search this board with that question or something like "beginner heli". You'll find loads.

The Pic and the ECO are VERY different birds. I'm a pilot of 8 weeks now and have both (plus an R22 and a Pic Pro :-) .

For learing, basically, you can do it with the ECO, but you MUST follow some lessons, such as radds at http://www.dream-models.com/h/index.html .. If you follow the lessons to the letter there is no reason why you should not be able to learn to fly with zero damage. I know PLENTY of peoplo who have.

The advantage with learing with a bigger, collective pitch heli is that they are easier to fly. The disadvantages are that it is more expensive, it will cost you more to repair. You will suffer down time if you crash. It will intimidate you at first. It is capable of really hurting you or others around and you have to wait for calmish, dry weather.