Community
Search
Notices
Control Lines For all you fly-by-wire fanatics!

Ringmaster questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2009, 12:30 PM
whitennerdy

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ringmaster questions

I am a RC pilot just giving CL a try so I can fly at my own property. I have a 1/2a Skyray ready to go with a testors .049 when the weather improves. I am also completing a half built Ringmaster kit. I have an old Enya 35 cross flow engine for it but I can't find the plans for the kit so I don't know the exact cg or whether it needs extra weight for the outboard wing tip. I know this thing was very common back a while so hopefully someone can help me out. I also have a set of unused Sullivan flight lines that appear to be made of some sort of synthetic fiber (not steel) and I was wondering if anybody knows how these work out.
Old 01-14-2009, 12:49 PM
icerinkdad

Default RE: Ringmaster questions

The Ringmaster is a great plane but the kits tend to have a few issues related to the design being more than 50 years old. Is this the kit with the large leading edge or the sheeted leading edge? Make sure the bellcrank platform is very secure (most folks replace the light ply in the kits with a larger 5 ply piece) as the original design is a bit lightweight for current engines. The Ringmaster will fly with an engine as small as a 19.
As far as the Sullivan fiber lines they are really draggy. They will work but only if you move the leadouts back a couple of inches as they will bow badly behind the plane pulling it inward as you fly. .015 steel lines would be better and can be ordered from Brodak or Sig or check the web for a company called Good-To-Go models (a friend of mine who runs a web based CL specialty shop, Ed is a fountain of good CL info if you have unlimited minutes on your cell phone). Most folks use the sulivan fiber lines to reinforce things like spar splices as they glue well with CA and epoxy.