Community
Search
Notices
Electric RC Helis Discuss electric rc heli's such as the Piccolo, Logo 10, Logo 20, Hornet, Eco.

What next?

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2009, 01:09 PM
enuro12

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What next?

I'm just learning to hover and basic maneuvers on my Walkera 5#10. I'm months away from mastering it, however i'm wondering whats next? I'd like to be able to fly outside with something eventually. I don't necessary need to do 3d.

So what should i be looking at as my next heli? From all i've read i'm thinking FP then CP. But whats a good FP to learn on. Cost to repair will defiantly be a factor.
Old 10-27-2009, 11:14 AM
dknovick

Default RE: What next?

ORIGINAL: enuro12

I'm just learning to hover and basic maneuvers on my Walkera 5#10. I'm months away from mastering it, however i'm wondering whats next? I'd like to be able to fly outside with something eventually. I don't necessary need to do 3d.

So what should i be looking at as my next heli? From all i've read i'm thinking FP then CP. But whats a good FP to learn on. Cost to repair will defiantly be a factor.
My take on the various types:

The coaxial is good to learn orientation (since it hovers on it's own). Use it to learn tail in, side in, nose in.

The FP will start to teach you how to hover, but many skip this step and go straight to the CP (The FP and the CP are very different birds). You can also get in some forward flight with your FP.

The CP is your "true" heli with all it's complexities.

Depending on how much room / time / money you want to spend would determine what path you want to take next.

The FP will be cheaper to repair, but because it's "small" it will be less stable and twitchy. The CP (especially the 450 size) will be more stable and easier to learn to hover but will cost more initially, and cost more to repair.