Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis
Reload this Page >

The best of the mini R/C helis?

Community
Search
Notices
Electric RC Helis Discuss electric rc heli's such as the Piccolo, Logo 10, Logo 20, Hornet, Eco.

The best of the mini R/C helis?

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2003, 01:33 AM
Ric
My Feedback: (4)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The best of the mini R/C helis?

I can count at least 3 R/C helicopters in the Humming Bird class/size. Which of these do you think is the best, in terms of design, quality, durability, parts availability, ease for beginners, [sm=confused.gif]or whatever?
Old 10-11-2003, 06:02 AM
rscamp

Default RE: The best of the mini R/C helis?

I have no practical experience with them but my research suggests the Hummingbird is probably the best choice for durability and ease for beginners. The supplied motors aren't great though. If micro helis are anything like the larger electric helis, brushless is the way to go. I wonder when a brushless motor suitable for the tail will be available. [8D]

Rob
Old 10-11-2003, 03:42 PM
astronut30
My Feedback: (5)

Default RE: The best of the mini R/C helis?

Durability and ease for beginners, hands down Hummingbird. I've owned a Feda, a Piccolo and the Hummingbird in the past. I've never owned a Hornet but I know for sure that it's not suited for beginners because of the design which is more complex.

The Hummingbird has a better head design which require less mods than the Piccolo, plus the Hummingbird is about the same cost as the Fun Piccolo and the Fun doesn't even come with bearings which the Hbird does. Plus the Hbird comes assembled. The Hbird when set up properly is very stable from a micro standpoint. Quite possibly the most stable. It's more stable than the Piccolo that I owned.