Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Tips & Techniques
Reload this Page >

poly and baby powder

Community
Search
Notices
Tips & Techniques Want to share a tip or special technique you have either in the workshop or at the flying field or race track? Post it right here!

poly and baby powder

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2002, 07:33 PM
Norm Carroll

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default poly and baby powder

reaching the glassing stage on a Pica 1/5 p-51 and have read some tips on the poly/powder mixture. Have tested this on an old model and seems to work ok, but since this is my first time glassing, I need some expert advise. SO, should I go with this or stay with reg. poly resin method.
thanks
norm carroll
Old 07-25-2002, 10:59 PM
Mike James

Default Adhesion vs. finish

Because I want to be SURE that the glass is properly adhered to the structure, I always use resin alone for the initial glassing. But for a surface finish, adding some baby powder (Talc) to the resin is somewhat like super-fine microballoons, and will work well.

As far as I can tell, it's completely inert in the mixture. You can also get thixotropic silica from a fiberglass supplier, such as http://www.fibreglast.com and it has similar properties.
Old 07-25-2002, 11:49 PM
Dzlstunter

For what it's worth, baby powder and pure talc are not the same. The baby powder has stuff in it to make the baby smell better, but some of this stuff reacts with some of our hobby stuff. (Note the clever use of hi-tech terminology!) When using a dope and talc filler coat, I use talc. That having been said, if you have experimented with it, and it works with your finishing system, you have answered your own question. Dzl
Old 04-14-2003, 12:56 PM
John M. Bigelow

May sell mirco glass beads I have used with exposie and some
paints BUT. CU
Old 04-15-2003, 01:01 AM
TigreST