Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric On-Road vehicles, race cars and more Discuss electric RC on-road vehicles here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers, brushed motors, etc

Please help a total noob

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2009, 10:12 AM
MCSS Aerocoupe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Please help a total noob

Disclaimer: I would search the forums here first, but since I am such a noob on this, I don't know what I am looking for exactly, so sorry if my answers are out here already. This is my first attempt at any kind of RC car, truck, boat, etc. I am good at putting stuff together, but I just have no clue (yet) on how RC cars work.

Project: find/create a RC 1966 Chevelle for my brother who is retiring from the Army next month. Scale, brand, type, does not really matter as long as it is at least a 1:24 scale or bigger. Top speed does not matter, as long as it can run around for 15 minutes or so at a time at a decent speed just for fun. I am hoping to spend under $200. for the RC frame and guts...

Problems:
1. Can't find a RC kit for 1:24 (to use a plastic model body)
2. Only '66 Chevelle body in 1:18 or larger I can find is the ERTL die-cast 1:18 model
3. The model has a wheelbase of 6.5 inches, closest RC frame I have found has been the Duratrax Vendetta TC EP.
4. Been told the weight of the die-cast body will cause a stock motor to barely move the car, and the batteries will die within 5 minutes, most likely.

I contacted the Duratrax customer support with this problem, they suggested I come here and find out something about a brushless system. But since I have no idea what "brushless" would be, I am not quite sure what I am trying to find. I would be happy with one of those clear plastic bodies, but I have been unable to find one for a '66 Chevelle.

Thanks, very much, in advance for any and all help.
Old 05-29-2009, 10:17 AM
skottoman

Default RE: Please help a total noob